

17th European Fusion Theory Conference

9 - 12 October 2017, Athens - Greece

Dear colleagues,

We are happy to announce that the 17th edition of the European Fusion Theory Conference will be held in Athens, Greece, between 9 and 12 October 2017. The conference will be organized by the Association EURATOM – Hellenic Republic.

The conference programme will consist of invited lectures, oral contributions and poster contributions. The main topics covered are:

- Basic plasma theory.
- Macro-instabilities and operational limits.
- Alternative concepts: stellarators, RFPs, spherical tokamaks, laser-induced ignition.
- Turbulent transport and structures: experimental evidence and theoretical basis.
- Neoclassical transport: theory and experimental evidence.
- Burning plasmas and fast particles.
- Heating, current drive, and wave particle interactions.
- Edge and SOL/divertor physics.
- Computational modelling in plasma physics.

Detailed information is provided on the conference website: <u>http://www.astro.auth.gr/~eftc17</u>

The Scientific Programme Committee responsible for the 2017 edition of the EFTC is:

Daniela Grasso (chair)	Polytechnico di Torino, Italy
Clemente Angioni	Max Planck Institut für Plasmaphysik, Germany
Ivan Calvo	CIEMAT Madrid, Spain
Alessandro Cardinali	ENEA Centro Ricerche Frascati, Italy
Tünde Fülöp	Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Dick Hogeweij	Dutch Institute of Fundamental Energy Research, Netherlands
Nuno Loureiro	Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Ben McMillan	University of Warwick, United Kingdom
Florin Spineanu	Institute for Laser Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania
Michele Romanelli	Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, United Kingdom
Yanick Sarazin	Institut de Recherche sur la Fusion Magnétique, France
Christos Tsironis (LOC)	National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Information about previous editions of the EFTC can be found here: <u>http://fusionwiki.ciemat.es/wiki/European Fusion Theory Conference</u>

We look forward to welcoming you in Athens!

Daniela Grasso Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee Christos Tsironis Chair of the Local Organizing Committee